top of page

IWD23: Dr. Emma Yhnell

Dr. Emma Yhnell: Equity Diversity and Inclusion representative to the British Neuroscience Association, multi-award winning science communicator and senior lecturer at Cardiff University.


In celebration of International Women’s Day on Wednesday the 8th of March, Women in Neuroscience UK are taking over the UK DRI Twitter account! We aim to utilise this opportunity to highlight gender disparities in dementia research and showcase the stories of successful female dementia researchers. In this series of articles for IWD23, we interviewed inspiring women in dementia research about their work, their career pathways, and their advice for aspiring women in neuroscience.


What is your main field of research?

Although I started off in Biochemistry, I then completed a PhD in Neuroscience, now I spent most of my research time exploring public understanding of science and how we can make teaching even better for students through pedagogic research.


How did you end up here? Why did you become a scientist? What drew you to the field of dementia research? What makes you get up in the morning?

My grandparents both sadly had dementia. I used to get really frustrated as a young girl that the doctors couldn’t make them better. Although they sadly died a long time ago they remain a huge driver for me and the work that I do, particularly in raising awareness and understanding of dementia.


What is the coolest thing about your work/research?

That I get to help other people. That might be students with understanding a topic or patients understanding a condition, it is a real joy and a pleasure to be part of someone’s learning journey.


Why is your research important? What are the possible real world applications?

I think that this question hits the nail on the head, there have to be real world implications. When I was doing my PhD I was conscious that I wanted to meet people living with Huntington’s disease. The research I was doing in the lab had huge implications for people living with the condition and that was really important to me.


What has been / was your most important or surprising scientific finding?

That so many things go wrong, they don’t work out the way you expect. But that is part of science and research.


What are some of the main challenges you have faced in your time as a female dementia researcher? – Gender stereotypes and agism are still problematic, particularly at the more senior levels of science. I am still often mistaken for a student or for waiting staff at events, it shouldn’t happen in 2023, but it still does.


Have you ever faced any major setbacks?

I was required to take on major caring responsibilities and it wasn’t until this happened that the reality of balancing everything became really apparent. I try not to see setbacks as setbacks though, but opportunities to give new perspectives, learning and empathy with others.


Do you feel as though you are equally represented in this field? How many of your associates are also female researchers?

We still have more to do, particularly at the senior levels in terms of retaining women in science.


Tell me what you like to do when you aren't working on research

I love open water swimming, playing netball and watching terrible reality TV with my cats (my husband refuses to watch with me).


What's your dream outcome for your research?

I want more people to see science as something which is accessible and possible for them.


What's next for you in both your life and research?

I have a really busy teaching term coming up, so that is taking my focus at the moment. But I always like to take opportunities, so I will be popping up on some podcasts and radio shows too, I am also writing a popular science book proposal.


Please share some key lessons or words of wisdom for women and girls interested in pursuing this career.

Know that your voice is important, you may be the only person in the room that can bring that insight, so don’t be afraid to speak up and make your voice heard.


 

This article was written by Rebecca Parker, and edited by Ailie McWhinnie. Interested in writing for WiN UK yourself? Contact us through the blog page and the editors will be in touch!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page