top of page

Spotlight on: Lucy Taylor

In this short interview series, we will be shining a light on inspiring women working in neuroscience and reflecting on their distinct backgrounds and career journeys. We explore job perks and challenges, developing new skills, inspirations, and goals for the future. Stay tuned to read new interviews every month from women in a range of neuroscience-related professions!

Lucy Taylor, Masters student in Cognitive Neuroscience at UCL.

This month we interviewed Lucy Taylor who is currently studying MSc Cognitive Neuroscience at UCL, evaluating the effectiveness of behavioural interventions in patients with brain injuries or disorders that affect their thinking, language or visual processing skills. Lucy previously studied BSc Nutrition and Medical Sciences at UCL for which she was awarded the nutrition prize for graduating top of her degree cohort.


Tell us about your background in science, your current area of study, and what interested you about neuroscience initially.

I have a BSc in Nutrition and Medical Sciences from UCL, and I am currently completing an MSc in Cognitive Neuroscience at the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, UCL.


I have always been interested in the biological aspects of human science, but in recent years the psychological and neuroscientific aspects have captured my interest. My interest in neuroscience was sparked by optional modules I took during my undergraduate degree. One lecture (on anosognosia and somatoparaphrenia poststroke) is particularly memorable, as it was delivered by an inspiring female Professor (Prof. Kat Fotopoulou). After the lecture I got in contact with her as I wanted to hear more about her career and the research she has done. As a result, we built rapport and I started interning in her psychology lab. I assisted in the running of a multisite clinical trial on metacognition and interoception in anorexia nervosa. During my time there I established that it was the intersection between neuroscience and psychology that intrigued me, and as such decided to pursue an MSc in Cognitive Neuroscience.


I have thoroughly enjoyed my degree so far. It has given me a comprehensive introduction to cognitive neuroscience through modules spanning neuroanatomy, brain processes, neuropsychology, neuroimaging, statistics and translational research. Throughout my degree the translational aspects of cognitive neuroscience have captured my interest in particular; as such, I got a role as a research assistant for the Neurotherapeutics research group, which involved assisting in the running of clinical trial assessing the effectiveness of a word retrieval app for proper name anomia in dementia patients and assisting a psychologist in delivering therapy to carers of stroke patients with aphasia. I’ve also chosen to undertake my thesis on a clinical population; I am working with the Neuroscience and Mental Health research group on a clinical trial aiming to gain understanding of the neural circuitry implicated in the therapeutic effect of CBT.



What are the most enjoyable aspects of your current job?

As mentioned, I am currently involved in research with the Neuroscience and Mental Health research group for my thesis. I am really enjoying this as it is a topic I am genuinely really interested in and passionate about. However, it is the people that make it particularly enjoyable – it’s a pleasure to work alongside such an inspiring, diverse group of people. From the moment I joined they have been welcoming and supportive, and I’ve no doubt that the positive culture they’ve instilled is reflected in the quality of research they produce.



What are the challenges?

I would say the most challenging aspect of my studies currently is the need to learn a lot of new skills very quickly; my thesis requires collection and analysis of fMRI data, which is very new territory for me, and some days I can find it overwhelming. However, I have always enjoyed learning and specifically chose this project to push my boundaries, and I know it’ll be very rewarding when I complete it! Another challenge I’ve found daunting throughout the duration of my Masters is feeling very inexperienced compared to those in my research teams. However, when I’ve felt this way, I’ve tried to reframe the situation positively, and instead use their expertise to my advantage by being inquisitive and learning as much as I can from them.



What are you currently trying to improve?

As my studies are now focused on my thesis, I am currently trying to develop new skills such as how to use specific software for fMRI data analysis, as well as continuing to improve my critical thinking, literature searching and scientific writing skills. This year I’ve also made a conscious effort to improve my communication skills through taking up opportunities to present at national conferences; this is certainly outside of my comfort zone but I have already gained a lot of confidence from doing so!



Which women in your life inspire you, in neuroscience and beyond?

In neuroscience, I find myself inspired by women at very different stages of their career. There are numerous world-leading Professors in the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, who have undoubtedly inspired me by showing what’s possible through hard work, dedication and passion. I am also inspired by a PhD student, Millie, that I am currently working alongside for my thesis. She is exceptionally knowledgeable and skilled, but very approachable and supportive – which are all attributes I find inspiring. Finally, I am inspired by my peers; I have a very strong and supportive group of 5 girls from my Masters – they are all exceptionally intelligent, ambitious, supportive and kind women, who I am inspired by and grateful for on a daily basis.


Outside of neuroscience, I am undoubtedly inspired by the women in my family. I am from a very female-dominant family, full of strong, caring and encouraging women – a reliable network that I am very fortunate to have!



What goals do you have for your career, and where do you see yourself in the next few years professionally?

My main goals are to have a career which I enjoy on a day-to-day basis, I find fulfilling and rewarding, has great progression opportunities and allows me to continually learn and expand my knowledge.


I am currently looking to start my career in the pharmaceutical or healthcare industry in a business-to-business sales or consulting role. I am remaining open minded about doing a PhD or DClinPsy in the future - I am just ready for a break from academia at the moment!



What advice would you give to females at the early stages of their neuroscience careers?

Neuroscience is highly complex. In the early stages, it certainly seems like the more you know, the more you realise you don’t know, which can be daunting. The key to embracing this is to not be afraid of asking questions, no matter how trivial you think they may be. You’re not expected to know everything; those with more experience just appreciate curiosity and enthusiasm.


Also, grab as many opportunities as possible. Volunteer for neuro research studies and reach out to those whose work you are interested in to see if they can offer you any experience. You’ll be surprised at what you can find yourself simply from being proactive; I’ve found myself helping develop clinical trial protocols, running clinical trials, helping to write papers, receiving an offer to co-author a book and to present research at conferences, just from sending out some emails and having some conversations. Having this experience alongside my studies has been incredible – it has built my CV and helped me figure out where my interests lie within the discipline, which in turn has helped guide my next steps.



What aspects of the science/academic industry do you think need improving/addressing, particularly in terms of issues minority groups may face?

Whilst I think the industry is making steps in the right direction, I think there are still aspects of the field which need to be addressed. The cost of tuition remains a significant barrier to entry and there is underrepresentation of groups including women, BAME groups and those from disadvantaged backgrounds. This is critically important to address as science requires innovation, and innovation requires diversity - different individuals bring different perspectives, which is what progresses scientific research.


 

This article was written by Lauren Wallis and edited by Ailie McWhinnie. Interested in writing for WiNUK yourself? Contact us through the blog page and the editors will be in touch!

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page