top of page

Spotlight on: Sophie Blacklaw-Taylor

In this short interview series, we will be shining a light on inspiring women working in neuroscience and reflecting on their distinct backgrounds and career journeys. We explore job perks and challenges, developing new skills, inspirations, and goals for the future. Stay tuned to read new interviews every month from women in a range of neuroscience-related professions!


Sophie Blacklaw-Taylor, Masters student in Forensic Psychology at King’s College London.

This month, we interviewed Sophie Blacklaw-Taylor who is currently studying MSc Forensic Psychology at King’s College London. Her research focuses on the genetics of autism, in particular what underpins aggressive behaviours in some. She previously completed a BSc in Developmental Psychology at the University of East Anglia.


Can you tell us about your background in science/neuroscience?

I did my undergraduate degree in Developmental Psychology after working for a charity for children and young people with additional needs throughout college and developing an interest in working with young people with neurodevelopmental disorders. During my placement year at Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) during this degree, I was most interested in the work done by the Forensic CAMHS team and decided to pursue a Master’s in this field.



Can you tell us about your current role/area of study, and what interested you about neuroscience initially?

My MSc is Forensic Mental Health, which looks at the mental health needs of the offending population and the causes of antisocial behaviour, whether that is mental illness, personality disorders, trauma, substance misuse. For my thesis project, I am investigating the neurobiological underpinnings of two high-risk genetic mutations associated with aggression in Autism Spectrum Condition (ASC). Having worked with children and young people with ASC for years, and with the high rates of people with neurodevelopmental disorders in the Criminal Justice system, I was drawn to this thesis project as it allows me to explore the biological causes of the condition and understand this population better. This project is at the forefront of ASC research and its findings will allow for the development of targeted medication to manage aggression in people with ASC, which will be so beneficial to people with ASC and those that care for them.



What are the most enjoyable aspects of your current job?

Being able to observe the link between brain structure and behaviour - I’m fascinated by the ‘nature vs. nurture’ debate, and how genetic makeup and differences in brain structure can predispose some people to certain mental illnesses if they are exposed to particular environmental stressors. I think this allows us to have a better understanding of mental health and what someone is experiencing because their symptoms and behaviours can be somewhat explained by what is happening in their brain, and this can give us an idea of how we can best work with them to improve their symptoms.



What are the challenges?

The need to be able to detach from the patients I work with, but still provide empathetic care. You can’t take on what your patients are experiencing as you wouldn’t be able to care for them effectively and it wouldn’t be healthy for myself, but you also must be present with your patients and build good therapeutic relationships! This is a hard thing to learn and is something that I am always consciously practising, especially when working with such vulnerable people that might find it difficult to open up to a professional in the first place.


What skills are you currently trying to improve?

I am trying to speak up and not let imposter syndrome keep me back. I am often the youngest in the room when at my placement and this can stop me from contributing to conversations as I feel that I do not have the knowledge or experience to share my opinion, but I do! Finding the balance between my placement, my university work and having a social life and space to relax has been hard over this year, but I think I have become better at it and learnt to enforce boundaries where I need them.



Which women in your life inspire you, in neuroscience and beyond?

The women I work with in the psychology team at my placement - we are a team of women working in a male inpatient unit aiming to provide psychological care within the medical model of the hospital. These women are knowledgeable, resilient and powerful. They have highlighted the importance of compassion in healthcare, and advocating for your patient’s wider needs, not just those that can be managed by medication, and I have learnt so much from them.



What goals do you have for your career, and where do you see yourself in the next few years professionally?

I plan to work within the prison system and qualify as a forensic psychologist, ideally working with juvenile offenders. I am passionate about the accessibility of mental health support for all, whether that be for individuals with learning difficulties or those at a socio-economic disadvantage, and I hope to take this forward by opening these spaces up and improving their accessibility.



What advice would you give to women at the early stages of their neuroscience careers?

Ask questions - most people want to share their knowledge and these can lead to interesting conversations with new perspectives and ideas, and often further opportunities. Don’t be afraid to re-email someone - the majority of the time they are not ignoring you, they are just very busy and it has slipped their mind. Being a woman in a male-dominated field can be daunting but your opinions on things matter, and are needed to make sure all perspectives are heard!



What aspects of the science/academic industry do you think need addressing, particularly in terms of issues minority groups may face?

The inaccessibility of the field! A lot of positions want experience and a lot of opportunities at an undergraduate and postgraduate level are unpaid, and so excludes those that do not have access to financial support that allows them to take on unpaid work. Recognising that individuals from a lower socio-economic background are being excluded should be a priority of the field and steps should be taken to prevent this from happening. Doing so is so important as it gives a voice to all and benefits the whole field by giving it new perspectives on research areas.

 

This article was written by Lauren Wallis and edited by Ailie McWhinnie. Interested in writing for WiNUK yourself? Contact us through the blog page and the editors will be in touch!


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page